Rebeca Méndez


Rebeca Méndez awarded The Medal of AIGA


The Medal of AIGA (American Institute of Graphic Arts)—the most distinguished in the field—is awarded to individuals in recognition of their exceptional achievements, services or other contributions to the field of design and visual communication. Medals have been awarded since 1920 to individuals who have set standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or have made individual contributions to innovation within the practice of design. The contribution may be in the practice of design, teaching, writing or leadership of the profession. Past AIGA Medalists include, Charles and Ray Eames, Josef Albers, Richard Avedon, Massimo and Lella Vignelli, Alvin Lustig, April Greiman, Paula Scher, John Maeda, Ellen Lupton, Stefan Sagmeister, and Paola Antonelli, to name a few. The Medal will be awarded to Professor Méndez at the 2017 AIGA awards gala on Friday, April 21 in New York City.

AURORA / Ben Frost


Collaboration with Ben Frost and photographers Trevor Tweeten and Richard Mosse in the design for AURORA, Ben Frost’s latest release. The design comprises a CD, CD booklet, standard edition LP, and limited edition LP. See project: here.

2012 Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award Gala


On October 17, I was presented with the 2012 Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award in Communication Design by my dear friend Bob Stein. The awards honor lasting achievement in American design and are bestowed by the Smithsonian and The White House in recognition of excellence, innovation, and enhancement of the quality of life.